Legal Advice Centre

Social Welfare Benefits Clinic

The Queen Mary Legal Advice Centre is committed to offering assistance to clients to access Social Welfare Benefits. We operate a drop-in clinic that assists with form filling for Personal Independence Payment (PIP) and Work Capability Questionnaires for Employment and Support Allowance (ESA) and Universal Credit (UC). We also assist in Mandatory Reconsideration appeals for PIP and ESA where initial applications have been rejected.

Form Filling

This is a free service and our in-person clinic runs on the dates and times below. Due to Covid-19 we may be able to offer virtual appointments, where our advisers are available. Please do contact us if you cannot make the below date and/or time and we can see if we can assist.

The dates for this academic year are as follows;

Dates and Times

  • Monday 18 October 2021
  • Monday 1 November 2021
  • Monday 15 November 2021
  • Monday 29 November 2021
  • Monday 13 December 2021
  • Monday 24 January 2022
  • Monday 7 February 2022
  • Monday 21 February 2022
  • Monday 7 March 2022
  • Monday 21 March 2022
  • Monday 4 April 2022

Mandatory Reconsideration

As detailed above, we are able to assist with Mandatory Reconsideration applications. If you have missed the deadline for your Mandatory Reconsideration, please inform our team when you make your enquiry. Please call 020 7882 3931 or email lac@qmul.ac.uk to book a Mandatory Reconsideration appointment. We often book these appointments during our drop-in clinic dates above but, can assist on other days upon request.

Appeals to the Social Security Tribunal

If you have received a rejection following the submission of a Mandatory Reconsideration notice, email us at lac@qmul.ac.uk. At the Queen Mary Legal Advice Centre, we are able to review appeal cases and potentially assist clients in taking their claim to tribunal. This means interviewing, completing written submissions and representation in the Tribunal hearing.